East Operations



The East Operations Department comprises the four geo-political zones of the South-South, South-East, North-East and North-Central-East zones. The states making up the Zones are Cross-Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Rivers, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Abia, Imo, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, Taraba, Adamawa, Gombe, Bauchi, Yobe, Borno, Benue and Plateau states. Each Geo-political zone is headed by a Zonal Director, with their offices located at the Zonal Headquarters of Port Harcourt, Enugu, Bauchi and Benue respectively. Similarly, each state is headed by a Federal Road Maintenance Engineer (FRME) with office at the State Capital.

The Department is responsible for carrying out the following functions within its area of Jurisdiction:

Administration of all highway maintenance contracts
Administration of all direct labour works
Regular monitoring of roads and bridges with a view to identifying their maintenance needs.
Conducting condition surveys on all Federal Roads