The operations I (West) Department is headed by an Executive Director and comprises of six zones namely North-Central I, North-West I & II, South- West I & II, and South – South II and headed by Zonal Coordinators.
The zones are made up of the following states Kogi, Niger, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara, Ekiti, Kwara, Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, Delta, Edo, Ondo and the Federal Capital Territory (F.C.T) with a field office situated in each state and headed by a Federal Roads Maintenance Engineer (FRME).

I) North Central I: FCT, KOGI & NIGER STATES with the Zonal Office in the F.C.T
II) North West I: Kaduna, Kano & Katsina States with the Zonal Office in Kano State
III) North West II: Kebbi, Sokoto & Zamfara States with the Zonal Office in Sokoto State
IV) South West I: Ekiti, Kwara, Oyo & Osun States with the Zonal Office in Oyo State
V) South West II: Lagos I, Lagos II & Ogun States with the Zonal Office in Lagos State
VI) South South II: Delta, Edo & Ondo States with the Zonal Office in Edo State.

1. The Operations I (West) is primarily responsible for managing the Zones.
2. Check Submissions from the Field Offices
3. Process Contract Awards
4. Monitor/Keep the progress of Work
5. Process Interim Statements for Payment
6. Liaise with Direct Labour Unit.